Nature in mountain Arcadia reserves unique experiences. For winter sports enthusiasts we propose skiing at “Mainalo Ski Resort”, for those who love adventure we suggest rafting in Lousios River as well as hiking in the Lousios gorge.
Moreover, during your stay in Dimitsana, we suggest you to visit the following remarkable places:
The Open-Air Water Power Museum
The Open-Air Water Power Museum, built in 1997 after renovating derelict pre-industrial facilities, is located just outside Dimitsana. The buildings were restored and all the mechanisms, operated entirely with water power, were fixed. Among them one mill that grinds grains, a fulling mill that processes textiles, one tannery hides, one cauldron for raki production, one gunpowder mill and the houses of the tanner and the mill’s worker.
A serious scientific work has been accomplished, with great aesthetic and educational value, a unique testimony of a lifestyle and jobs that have been lost.
The Library and the Folklore Museum
The Library and the Folklore Museum and the priceless historical manuscripts and documents, located in Dimitsana’s square next to the elementary school.
The Cathedral of the village, Aghia Kiriaki, is also located at the same point; a building of 1834 which replaced the old one of 1603.
In the gorge of Lucius, one of the oldest monasteries in Greece was founded in 927 by the secretary of John Fokas, John Lampardopoulos, the so-called Philosopher. The Faculty of Dimitsana and the Secret school functioned in the monastery with the pioneers Gregory V and Germanos of Old Patras. Today there are two monastery complexes: the Old and the New Monastery. The New Monastery and many cells also, were founded in 1691 at a distance of 400 meters from the Old Monastery. The Byzantine mural paintings are of great interest.
Located four kilometers away the open-air water power museum, Emialon Monastery was built in 1600 in a stunning landscape, wedged on a rock. During the Turkish domination it was “an excellent cultural center, a pilgrimage for the Christians of the region, especially those of Dimitsana and Zigovisti”. It also significantly helped the Greeks who were fighting during the revolution of 1821, offering them food, money etc.
Prodromou Monastery (Stemnitsa)
The Monastery of St. John the Baptist was built in 1167, on the opposite side of the gorge of Lousios, 200 meters from the bank. Flourished during the Turkish occupation, it was accepting many dedications and donations, having in this way the ability to perform a great charity work. It was also the base of operations of Kolokotronis and Plapoutas, a hospital for the wounded as well as a supply center for the besiegers of Tripoli. The gorge of Lousios was a place where monks used to live their ascetic life.